*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3278413
Rated: E · Message Forum · Fantasy · #2016377
Chat with fellow members and catch up on all the FSFS News!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Jun 27, 2019 at 7:33am
Re: Book marketing
by Tobber
Hey Brom, I don't know any books on the subject (I'm sure there are plenty, though), but posting stuff is the easiest step, really. It will probably take you like five minutes to learn. The difficult part is attracting an audience.

Whether it's Facebook, a subject forum, a blog, Youtube, or whatever, you can't just jump in and say, "Here's my new book. Please buy it," or "Hey, I'm a writer, watch me talk about writing." Well, you could, but it probably won't bring in much of an audience.

The reason why it's often recommended to create a social media presence long before you have a book to sell, is because it takes time to build an organic audience. There's as many different ways to go about it as there are people, but you generally have to offer people something of value to build up trust and goodwill before pushing your book. The most obvious example of this is probably what many self-pub writers do once they have a few books out. They offer one book for free (offering something of value) in exchange for people joining their email list (to build an audience), showing that they can actually write quality stuff before trying to sell their other books to that email list.