*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Creative fun in
the palm of your hand.
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/view_item/item_id/1759676-Living-a-WheatGluten-Free-Life
Rated: E · Article · Health · #1759676
Info on eliminating wheat/gluten from your diet
Living a Wheat/Gluten Free Life

Ever since I've been told that I'm severly allergic to the gluten that's in wheat, I've had to learn how to read labels and find out what I can and cannot eat. It isn't as simple as not eating bread as I first thought.

First, you must read food labels carefully.

1. Do not eat anything that contains wheat, rye, and barley.
2. Oats are questionable. It depends on how they are processed, but my doctor has advised me against it because of the severity of my allergies.
3. Malt vinger is a no-no.
4. Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) unless made from soy or corn
5. Flour or cereal products unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour.
6. Vegetable protein unless made from soy or corn.
7. Malt or malt flavoring unless derived from corn.
8. Modified starch or modified food starch unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize or maize is used.
9. Vegetable gum unless made from carob bean, locust bean, cellulose, guar, gum arabic, gum tragacanth, xantham or vegetable starch.
10. Soy sauce or soy sauce soilds unless you know they do not contain wheat.

These words are indicators of wheat.
1. Stabilizers
2. Starch
3. Flavoring
4. Emulisifier
5. Hydrolyzed
6. Plant Protein

Foods to stay away from
Bread
pasta
Malted drinks
Breaded meats and seafood
meatloaf
pizza
meatballs
muffins
biscuits
crackers
gravy
breaded vegetables
cakes
cookies
doughnuts
pastries
ice cream cones (the cones not the ice cream)
pies
pretzels
bread pudding
beer
most soups
yeast


Foods that may contain wheat
sour cream
chocolate milk
non-dairy creamers
yogurt (Yoplait does not)
canned meat
sausage
cold cuts
hot dogs
canned stew (Denty Moore doesn not)
chili (Hormel does/ Bryan hot dog chili does not)
souffles
fondue
cornbread (depends how you make it, read the recipe)
curry powder
seasoning mixes


Some medicines may contain the same gluten that's in wheat. Check labels.



© Copyright 2011 very thankful (sisterofmercy at Writing.Com). All rights reserved.
Writing.Com, its affiliates and syndicates have been granted non-exclusive rights to display this work.
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/view_item/item_id/1759676-Living-a-WheatGluten-Free-Life