*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums.php/message_id/3033638
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing · #1474311
2023 Sign-ups are CLOSED. A month-long novel-planning challenge with prizes galore.
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Oct 23, 2016 at 10:29pm
Day 23 rant
Decided to go against my carefully constructed personality and do tomorrow's assignment early.

I hate demographics. I hate the entire concept of demographics.

I know, I know - hate is a strong word. But I'm a writer, and I chose it because it fits.

As soon as you start putting people into boxes, you divide them. Democrat vs. Republican, black vs. white, old vs. young, Slytherin vs. Gryffindor... artificial boundaries, all of them - with all due respect to the Sorting Hat.

They can prevent us from finding common ground.

I have more in common with a particular woman half my age than I do with any of my male contemporaries, and yet when you look at demographics, you lump me in with a lot of guys I have nothing in common with except plumbing and decade of birth, and you make the assumption that I have to enjoy different things than my younger friend does - granted, of course, I do, to the extent that no two people are ever going to be exactly alike, not even twins.

I was born between "generations." Am I a Boomer? Am I Gen X? Who knows? Besides marketing gurus, and they certainly don't know me. And besides, what does it matter, when everyone "targets" Millennials? The simple fact that I know these artificial divisions exist disgusts me.

I made a Harry Potter reference joke above, but I'm not the intended audience of those books. Yet I read them, and enjoyed them.