*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3347911
Printer Friendly Page Tell A Friend
(683)
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing.Com · #100931
A message forum for general discussion. Please come and chat with others!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
May 30, 2020 at 5:34pm
Re: Passive Voice
I've heard quite a bit about active voice vs passive voice. I'm no expert, but I'll try to add in my two cents:

Active voice: When the subject of a sentence performs the verb’s action, we say that the sentence is in the active voice. For example, in "Bob fixed the car", the focus is on Bob, who is the one doing the action. That's why it's active voice. Sentences in the active voice have a strong, direct, and clear tone.

Passive voice: A sentence is in the passive voice, on the other hand, when the subject is acted on by the verb. Basically, in passive voice your subject (the thing the sentence is giving the focus to) isn't doing the action, but rather being acted upon. For example, in "The car was fixed by Bob", the focus of the sentence is on the car, who is not doing the action, but is rather being acted upon. That's why it's passive voice.

Using the active voice conveys a strong, clear tone and the passive voice is subtler and weaker. It's recommended to not use the passive voice just because you think it sounds a bit fancier than the active voice.

That said, there are times the passive voice is useful and called for. Take “The squirrel was chased by the dog,” for example, as opposed to "The dog chased the squirrel". That sentence construction would be helpful if the squirrel were the focus of your writing and not the dog. So while active voice is what you probably should use most of the time, it doesn't mean that passive voice is something you should never use.