*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3607007
Printer Friendly Page Tell A Friend
(683)
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing.Com · #100931
A message forum for general discussion. Please come and chat with others!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Dec 8, 2023 at 6:00pm
Distraction free writing
Hi gang,
While I am a writer / "published author" (Magazine article in the early 1990s - being a "published author" and $5 will get you a cup of good coffee), however, one of my main focuses is notetaking. I have noticed that in the writing community, "distraction free writing" is a common topic. I have also noted that there are numerous devices that implement distraction free writing, and that they generally cost about the same as a mid-range laptop (nominally $500). Now, if you are rich enough to consider that price inconsequential, and are interested in distraction free writing, stop reading, and buy one of these. I am poor(er), and buying one of these devices would be nearly impossible. If that describes you, please read on. Here are ways to for a poor(er) person to distraction free write. Please note, these are cheap but some require some learning / reading to use - if you object to that, please save up and buy one of the dedicated devices (which, by the way, you will have to learn to use also).

MOBILE PHONE OR TABLET

1.) Get a bluetooth keyboard (shop hard, some of these are over $100, I got mine for $24) and install a text notetaking app of your choice on the phone or tablet. Get a stand for the phone or tablet (Amazon has them starting at about $5, I get mine at Dollar Tree for $1.25). Pair the bluetooth keyboard to the device, set the device in the stand, and open the text editor - you are writing distraction free.