*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/item_id/1175177-Dystopia-Horror-Contest
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Horror/Scary · #1175177
Competing for publication!

December Title: "White Chapel"
December Theme: Jack the Ripper
December Highlight: Jason Beam, Horror Artist

Background:

I have been a member of writing.com for two years, and my subscription has heralded the beginning of my writing career. In that time, I have published some fifteen short stories, a poem, and have just signed my first publishing contract for a full-length horror novel (Black Water, 2007). I do not believe this is because I am a good author, but because I have submitted my work, a task I hope to inspire other, more timid authors to undertake.

To this end, and considering my new responsibilities as an acquisitions editor for Dystopia Magazine, I have decided to run this contest in the hopes of attracting other writers to submit their work, and realize their first or continued publishing credits.

The Contest:

Dystopia Magazine is a horror genre periodical that highlight horror as an art form in all media it may appear. From movies and video games, photography and art, to poems and fiction, Dystopia Magazine is not a literary rag, but an industry magazine. In their pursuit of this enormous monthly goal, they are always looking for reviews and fiction, poetry and journalistic articles.

As for the contest, I will be accepting entries for all aspects of the magazine, and forwarding the top three in each category to the editor of Dystopia for selection and possible inclusion in the magazine. The categories are as follows:

*Bullet* Short Stories – 2,500 to 12,500 words
         *Bullet* Poetry – No length restrictions
         *Bullet* Reviews – 500 words or more
         *Bullet* Articles – Opinion style pieces of 500 or more words concerning the horror industry
         *Bullet* Photography – Horror specific images