*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/1025137
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Community · #939896
Have something that just makes you mad? Well, here's the place to complain about it!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Feb 23, 2005 at 1:08pm
Gossiping co-workers!
If you didn't already guess from my "yogurt" post, I work in an office. The office dynamic takes some time to get used to. The thing I dislike most about working in an office is the gossip that goes on. I try my hardest not to gossip about people. Ever. It's just rude.

Here's a bit of background: I worked as a temp here at the University from April 2004 to November 2004. First I worked in the Dean's office (College of Science & Technology) for six months, then I worked in the Office of Technology for 2 months. I currently work in the Department of Marketing (College of Business). Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I was also a student here for 4.5 years before I came to work here. So I know a bunch of people here.

The job that I have now is a permanent position, which makes me really happy because of health insurance, job security, retirement plan, etc. Well, recently my old job (in the Office of Technology) became available again. And it was reclassified to a higher level. Now, I really enjoyed my time there, but I'm very happy where I am now. Suddenly, people kept calling/dropping by to ask if I'm going to apply for the job. I told everyone that I'm not interested in the job, because I'm happy where I am now. They didn't seem to understand (I guess they didn't think I would pass up a higher salary?), but that's the truth.