*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/1635222
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing · #980111
A sanctuary for weary writers, inky wretches, and aspiring professional novelists.
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Dec 10, 2007 at 4:34pm
Re: One for the other
by Amarisa
I reached a point in my life (in college) when I realized that writing might not be accessable as soon as I get out of school. Getting an internship at even a magazine is hard enough, but succeeding or getting into a publishing company requires a bit more experience, that includes just being published. Despite being on the campus literary magazine staff and at least 10 stories up my sleeve, I don't have many other credentials. However, writing is what I'm good at so I decided to double major in journalism. In this way I have my carreer (and a degree in both journalism and creative writing) with all my stories on the back burner for when they randomly pop up with more information.

The only thing I can suggest is following a set schedule. I don't do it but I probably have a lot more free time than you do (despite double majoring and working two part-time jobs). If, for example, you're working full time and have kids, then wait until they're in bed, make yourself a cup of whatever, and relax at the computer. Sometimes the best kind of relaxation is when you sit down and let your mind wander, either through playing Solitaire or some other mindless game, or through writing out what you see. Even if you're just brainstorming for characters, setting, plot, etc.