*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/1661070
Rated: 18+ · Message Forum · Contest · #1199662
48 hours to write a short story to a prompt. Enter to win great prizes.
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Jan 27, 2008 at 11:48am
Entry...Round 3
Freedom's Failure

I sat at my desk a few days ago and read a poem titled "Celebration 76." The poem just happened to be about the year I graduated from high school, 1976. That was one fantastic year, not because I graduated, but because of all the celebrations that were going on.

There were costume parties, pool parties, dance parties, masquerade balls, and fire works celebrations every time you turned around. Every celebration you heard of, and any celebration you went to had something to do with the Bi-Centennial, 200 years of America being "The Land of Freedom."

I'll never forget my home town's celebration that year. It was an all day shin dig, for all of you big city stuffed shirts out there, that's the way we say "big celebration" out in the country. They had a big square dance the morning of July 4th. All of the dignitaries from the town council were dressed in drag. Each one was dressed as...you guessed it, good ole Betsy Ross. What a hoot!

After the square dance, there were fish fries, barbecues, chili cook offs, and any other type of food you wanted you could probably find being cooked somewhere in town. Everything that was happening that day was carefully planned out. It was progressing from celebrations of least importance, to those that were the most important.

The gang from our local chess club decided to get together at Dairy Queen and have an internal chess tournament. We did that quite often simply to boost our status in the national Chess Federation's rankings. Aside from boosting our rankings, we were killing time while waiting for the next celebration.