*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3602417
Rated: E · Message Forum · How-To/Advice · #2292893
A place for Newbies to seek advice about reviewing
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Nov 19, 2023 at 4:51am
New and would like to review... but can't.
Hi there.

I'm extremely new here and I would like to have some of my writing reviewed but I would also like to leave some reviews in kind (it's only fair).

The only thing is, I don't know if my reviews are very valuable as I have little to no experience. I figure I can leave a 'Reader reaction' type of review but not get into the technicals. I also don't want to step on any writer's toes and make comments like "I'd word this like this and I'd restructure this sentence like that" so leaving a more technical review makes me extremely nervous. If I made critical errors in my sentence structure or used 1 adjective 78 times in a single paragraph and simply didn't notice, I'd want to know about it. I want to know if this bit gets slow and boring, that bit is good and I love how when this person said that one thing it made them a more rounded character, but the type of reviews I'd want to get would probably be overbearing and for lack of a better word toe-stompy for other people. Also, some of the stuff I've already read is so wildly outside of my wheelhouse, I really don't feel free to comment, for example, I like long-form stuff (as you can probably guess from this post) and I've read a couple of stories that are about 2 - 300 words in length. My first reaction is "I'd love you to expand on this" or "Is this an outline or a finished piece?" and then looking at the profile, everything is max 2 - 300 words so that must just be their style so I can't leave such a comment. Is there somewhere I can find "Here's my 2000 word chapter 1. What do you think?" because these are the types of posts I'm likely to make.