*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3635961
by Seuzz
Rated: 18+ · Message Forum · Fantasy · #2180090
Message forum for readers of the BoM/TWS interactive universe.
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Mar 31, 2024 at 8:07pm
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Merry Christmas BoM community.
by Nostrum
I wish, but things have changed so much that it doesn't feel like Easter anymore.

Part of my issues is that, even if I'm not exactly a religious person, I do try to keep some respect to all things regarding Christianity, being raised around various denominations (mostly Catholicism and LDS, but also Evangelicalism, Pentecostalism, Baptists and a neighbor who happened to be Jehovah's Witness) and knowing a bit of each. When I was a kid, this whole week was a holiday (mostly since I studied on a Catholic private school), so "Spring Break" was alien to me. On Good Friday, it was always eating fish and seafood as well as some seldom-cooked food (like scalloped potatoes, though in my case they're pan-cooked and without milk or cream, instead using butter) while seeing old classics like The Ten Commandments or Ben-Hur (or even Cleopatra; so long as it was vaguely before the age of the Gospels, it was fair play). Local channels kept that degree of respect, foregoing all local and syndicated programming other than the news.