Explanations and instructions of all things Writing.Com.
On the item creation (and editing) forms, you will find an Access Restrictions selection area. The default setting is "Make PUBLIC, allow EVERYONE!". Based on your portfolio status, you will have other options including the following:
Keep PRIVATE, for my eyes only!
Make PUBLIC, allow EVERYONE!
Registered Users and higher only.
Registered Authors and higher only.
Preferred Authors and higher only.
Writing.Com Moderators and higher only.
Writing.Com Senior Moderators and higher only.
The levels available to you will be limited to your level and below. For example; a Registered Author may use the first four access restrictions, while a Moderator would have the first six options available.
Access to your item will be restricted by whatever setting you select. "Keep PRIVATE, for my eyes only!" means only YOU can access or even see your item. This is the appropriate setting for any items in progress that are not ready for the public eye. "Make PUBLIC, allow EVERYONE!" means that everyone visiting Writing.Com from unregistered guests and up are able to view your work. This is the correct setting for works that are mostly completed and you would like everyone to read.
Restricting access on a folder will remove that folder from display within your public portfolio. It will also disallow the viewing of that folder's contents. It will NOT, however, restrict access on the individual items within it. They will still show up on Writing.Com's public listing pages unless you also set the access restrictions on those individual items. If you do not want these items to show, each individual item's access level will need to be set.
For your convenience and organization, it may be helpful to create a folder entitled "Private", which is restricted as private and holds your private work until it is ready for public viewing. This is only a suggestion and not a requirement.