Explanations and instructions of all things Writing.Com.
A Campfire Creative is a literary work created by additions from only those who have been explicitly invited to participate. Each creative is run by a leader who has created the campfire and invited its participants. Campfire Creatives are a fun and interactive way of writing with a group. Imagine sitting around a campfire with a group of your friends. The leader of the campfire begins a story that is then passed around the group for their input. With up to 25 participants, you never can tell where these are going to lead!
If you are interested in checking out some Campfire Creatives by other members, you can find them by clicking on Browse by Type in the navigation menu under the Writing.Com logo and choosing Campfire Creatives.
How Does It Work?
Create your Campfire, then click the Manage Campfire link from within the item's edit tools line (either from your portfolio or within the item itself). Here you are able to to manage your invitees, list and edit the additions that are in the Campfire, and extinguish it.
How Does It Work?
Enter your invitees' email addresses in the Manage Campfire area of the item. Writing.Com will send them a brief invitation for your Campfire Creative. It will include a brief overview of how campfire creatives work, your description of your Campfire and instructions on how they can accept or decline your invitation. If an invitee accepts your invitation, you will be notified by email and they will be added to the Campfire's rotation. If an invitee declines your invitation, you will be notified by email and they will be removed from your invitation list.
Please remember that your Campfire Creative can not begin until at least one invitee has accepted your invitation. Once the first invitation has been accepted, you will receive an email from the Campfire Creative system explaining how to continue. You are limited to 25 invitees; accepted or not. Once an author has contributed to your creative, you will not be able to remove them; you will only be able to disable their invitation.1