Explanations and instructions of all things Writing.Com.
To request that a deceased member's account be memorialized, the family must mail the site the member's username and a copy of the death certificate. The site's contact information is available in "Contact Writing.Com" .
When an account is memorialized:
The portfolio icon turns white. A white feather icon shows when larger sizes of the portfolio icon are displayed. Regular CostumIcons are not displayed. See "Portfolio Icons" .
The account is maintained as-is at its current membership level. No further paid membership fees are required.
The account is locked from log-ins. All private areas of the account, including email, are no longer accessible.
All items are frozen and cannot be edited or posted to, except that Forum items set to allow others to post can still be posted to.
Visible items set to allow rating and/or reviewing can still be rated and/or reviewed.
If the Notebook tab is set to allow access, other members can still post to it. Such posts do not appear in the Newsfeeds.
If a Group item has a valid Group Succession Plan and someone notifies Staff of this, the Group item and any other designated items will be transferred as the plan indicates. See "Transfer a Group To Another Member" .
In the Authors listing with the sort option of Highest Level First, memorialized accounts are listed after Preferred Authors and before Registered Authors.1