Get it for
Apple iOS.
Creative fun in
the palm of your hand.
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/view_item/item_id/2245712-Jane-Austens-novels
Rated: E · Review · History · #2245712
A short overview of Jane Austen's novels
During her lifetime, Jane Austen completed six novels. For anyone not familiar with the stories, here is an overview:

In Sense and Sensibility (1811) the two Dashwood sisters find true love and happiness in spite of obstacles. One of the charms of the novel comes from the contrasting characters of sensible Elinor and her younger sister Marianne who imagines herself as a heroine of one of the novels of 'sensibility', or keen sensitivity, popular at the time.

Pride and Prejudice (1813) is perhaps Jane Austen's most famous work. The novel tells the story of Elizabeth Bennet and how she overcomes her prejudice against proud Mr. Darcy to achieve a happy marriage. Jane wrote of Elizabeth: 'I must confess that I think her as delightful a creature as ever appeared in print, & how I shall be able to tolerate those who do not like her at least, I do not know' (letter to Cassandra written on the 29th of January 1813).

In Mansfield Park (1814) quiet heroine Fanny Price is the poor relation from a large family who is sent to live with in the house of her wealthy uncle, Sir Thomas Bertram. Fanny refuses to marry a man her uncle chooses for her and instead marries her cousin Edmund Bertram who was the only one of her cousins to be kind to her from the first.

The heroine of Emma (1815) is a lovable busybody and matchmaker whose errors get her into trouble and almost ruin her happiness and that of her friend Harriet Smith. Fortunately, Emma learns the error of her ways with the help of her old friend Mr. Knightley, and both she and Harriet have happy endings.

In Persuasion (1817) Anne Elliot remains a spinster after giving up her true love Captain Wentworth because of the prompting of her friend and mentor Lady Russell who though that Captain Wentworth was beneath her. When Anne meets him again, she realises that giving him up was a mistake. After many tribulations and misunderstandings, she eventually wins him back.

Northanger Abbey (1817) combines social satire and romance with elements of gothic, mystery and ghost stories. The heroine, Catherine Morland, suspects her beloved Henry Tilney's father of murdering his mother. After casing herself great embarrassment through her fanciful nature, Catherine learns sense and comes to see that there is no murder mystery and that the character of the domineering father is the only danger at Northanger Abbey. Fortunately Henry is prepared to overlook her flighty suppositions and they marry happily.
© Copyright 2021 HollyMerry (hollymerry at Writing.Com). All rights reserved.
Writing.Com, its affiliates and syndicates have been granted non-exclusive rights to display this work.
Printed from https://www.writing.com/main/view_item/item_id/2245712-Jane-Austens-novels